It’s the Final Countdown

Posted: August 10, 2011 in Shanghai-ed!

Well, it’s done. The transaction is complete. Money has crossed hands and there are no refunds. I’m returning to Shanghai, making my exodus through O’Hare on the 14th of September. It’s suddenly become more imperative that I find a job.

I’m finally moved out of the Monastery, once again to entrench myself in my parents’ basement for a spell before I ship out. The upstairs television boasts Netflix streaming, but the viewing experience is much more harrowing at night for the proximity to my sleeping predecessors. I watched Theremin: an Electronic Odyssey late last evening on that same set, and each time the documentary switched to footage of live performances the volume shot up such that it would suddenly sound as if there in the very living room were Dr. Theremin himself playing the infernal contraption for all the neighborhood to hear. I had to be fast with the remote to deal with this issue, and each time the scene changed my jaw dropped as I fumbled ineffectively with the controls in the dark… The film included some fascinating interviews, and the story of Dr. Theremin is like something from a movie anyway. This guy was kidnapped by the KGB in New York City and forced to work on technology for the Soviets, (he was Russian originally), none of his friends in the US knew what happened to him until he returned in the 90’s, an old man. Crazy stuff!

Anyway, the time to set off is nearly upon me. I’m planning to stay with my friend Paul (都佳辰) when I first get to Shanghai. He keeps a quirky little apartment in the French Concession, my favorite district. It has a second level reached via ladder, where I will sleep, and a porch on that same level with a decent view. I won’t have a kitchen, and the bathroom is in a different part of the building which must be accessed from the outside, so I expect I’ll be looking for a new place before long, but I have another friend in the same neighborhood who can help me with that. In fact, I have friends all over Shanghai, and thank goodness for that. This should be a much smoother transition than the last time.

For those who don’t know, I studied in Shanghai during the 2009-2010 academic year. It was a life-changing experience and all that stuff, but in all seriousness I met some movers and some shakers over there. I came back home and graduated and found myself delivering sandwiches again, so I’ve decided to return to meet up with said movers and shakers and see if I can’t make things happen. That’s… about as specific as the goal is right now. I’ll have a drummer and another guitarist lined up for a band, in Nik and Paul respectively, and hopefully I’ll have set up my computer to record by then. In any case, I’ll have fun and my Chinese will in all likelihood improve dramatically. If I can find a good job and decent hours I could even build up some cash!

Oh hey, this is pretty much my first actual post. Although that test post went really well.

Leave a Reply

