I’m back in the saddle again

Posted: September 19, 2011 in Shanghai-ed!

What time is it? What day is it? I’m finally back in Shanghai and, having sorted out these sorts of things, I can figure out where I’m going to live and what I’m going to do for work. For those who need some catching up, I studied for a year at East China Normal University in Shanghai and I’ve just returned after a year spent concluding undergraduate studies in my hometown. A couple days ago I left home, early in the morning, and sat in a tube chasing the sun for 20 hours before arriving… home. Odd, but that was the feeling as I stepped out of the subway and into the Long Zhi Meng shopping center: one of returning at long last to a place that had been my home and the site of countless goings-on.

One of the first people I spoke to was a sales representative in large electronics store who told me that China Mobile no longer had any presence in Long Zhi Meng, (I needed to get my phone up and running first thing). Upon leaving the store, I looked to the right and found the China Mobile stand. I smiled, sighed, and got ripped off by a rather unscrupulous and apathetic SIM card pusher with claws. Home again, home again, jiggity-jig!

In the days since, I’ve bounced from one friend’s home to the next. I’ve found 3 students, one of whom I met on the plane over here. I’m looking to join my Scot friend, Nik, in his work as a Kindergarten teacher. It will ensure that I’m not allowed to use the Chinese for which I’ve worked so hard, and is also probably one of the more comical jobs I could land over here. Since I’ve already landed 3 students my goal is but part-time work. I just need someone to handle my visa for me. I feel like if I show up after three months and tell them I’ve had so much fun vacationing in China that I want to take another three months they may suspect foul play…

More updates in a bit, and for those of you waiting for emails… It seems that in my absence the relationship between China and Google has only continued to deteriorate. It’s pretty much useless over here. I’m going to set up a Hotmail account in a bit and see if that works any better. In the meanwhile remain on the edge of your seats, where I’m sure you’ve been all this while.

Comments
  1. Ezekiel says:

    Glad you’ve found a job so quickly. For some reason, my mind manufactured an image of you on a street corner somewhere holding a sign reading “trabajo.” We should work out blog deets on the facebox, providing you can access that site easier than google.

  2. mom says:

    Nice picture – wonder what you’re thinking!

  3. i love your blog, i have it in my rss reader and always like new things coming up from it.

Leave a Reply

